racing

Age and Distance (1 min read)

Written By Millionaire’s Digest Team Member: Heather Rogers

Founder & Owner of: Confident Adventurer

Millionaire’s Digest Team, Contributor and Travel Writer


There are some places where you see evidence of the incredible beauty of God’s creation everywhere. Westmore, Vermont is one of those places. A small town with a population of around 300, Westmore is part of three Vermont counties known as the Northeast Kingdom. This is the name that former governor George Aiken gave to the three counties of the northeast corner of Vermont. In a 1949 speech, he said, “You know, this is such beautiful country up here. It ought to be called the Northeast Kingdom of Vermont.” The name stuck.

I grew up here.

Once I showed a picture to a coworker of the place I grew up. She was in utter shock that I would ever leave such a place of beauty.

But every little girl must grow up and leave home. For that just makes the visits home more special.

Every time I visit, I enjoy the beauty of the area with greater appreciation than I ever had as a child. There are some things that age and distance only make better. The beauty of a small hometown is one of those things.

Don’t take the beauty of your hometown for granted.


Article Credits: Heather Rogers

Millionaire’s Digest Team, Contributor

2 thoughts on “Age and Distance (1 min read)”

  1. I agree.
    I grew up in the Bavarian Alps. For me it was normal to open the window and have a look at the snow covered Alps, they were so close I could bike to them. A quaint little village in the middle of the Alps. As a kid I didn’t think too much of it, it was “just there”, now I am amazed by its beauty whenever I go back.

    Liked by 1 person

Comment

